Contact Me for a Free Consultation (941) 257-5003

Blog

FLORIDA DUI SANCTIONS

Posted by John P. Rutkowski | Nov 01, 2020 | 0 Comments

FLORIDA DUI SANCTIONS:

FIRST TIME DUI JAIL TIME. Maximum of 6 months in jail.   If the driver's blood/breath alcohol (BAC) was .15 or higher, or there was a minor in the vehicle, the maximum jail sentence is 9 months. Probation 6 to 12 months. Fines $500 to $1000.  If the blood alcohol level was .15 or higher, or at the time of the first offense DUI in Florida a person under the age of 18 was present in the vehicle, the fine range is $1000 to $2000.  License Revocation 6 to 12 months. Business Purposes License After completing DUI School driver may apply for a Business Purposes Only license. Ignition Interlock Required if blood alcohol level was .15 or higher for 6 months. Vehicle Impound 10 days. DUI School   must complete Level I DUI School and any recommended treatment. Community Service 50 hours maybe possible to buy out at $10.00 per hour. Court Costs and Costs of Prosecution

SECOND DUI WITHIN FIVE YEARS OF A PRIOR DUI CONVICTION JAIL TIME   minimum mandatory 10 days in jail and a maximum of nine months.  If the blood alcohol level was .15 or higher, or there was minor in vehicle, maximum jail sentence is 12 months. Probation 6 to 12 months. Fines $1,000 to $2,000.  If blood alcohol level was .15 or higher, or at the time of offense a minor in vehicle, the fine range is $2,000 to $4,000. Driver's License Revocation Minimum of 5 years. Purposes Only License after one year of the five-year revocation. Ignition Interlock one-year unless the driver's blood alcohol level was .15 or higher 2 years. Vehicle Impound 30 days. DUI School Must complete Level II DUI School and any recommended treatment. Community Service Required, maybe possible to buy out at $10.00 per hour. Court Costs and Costs of Prosecution

SECOND DUI OUTSIDE FIVE YEARS OF A PRIOR DUI CONVICTION JAIL TIME maximum 9 months in jail.  If the blood alcohol level was .15 or higher, the maximum jail sentence is 12 months. Probation 6 to 12 months. Fines $1,000 to $2,000.  Blood alcohol level .15 or higher, or at the time of the offense a minor vehicle, the fine is $2,000 to $4,000. Driver's License Revocation 6 to 12 months. Business Purposes Only License not eligible for a Florida Business Purposes Only License. Ignition Interlock A one-year ignition interlock is required, unless the driver's blood alcohol level was .15 or higher the interlock is required 2 years. Vehicle Impound 10 days. DUI School must complete Level II DUI School and any recommended treatment. Community Service Required, maybe possible to buy out at $10.00 per hour. Court Costs and Costs of Prosecution

THIRD DUI CONVICTION WITHIN 10 YEARS OF A PRIOR CONVICTION JAIL TIME third time DUI that takes place within 10 years of a prior DUI conviction faces a minimum mandatory 30 days in jail and a maximum of 5 years in Florida State Prison.  Mandatory Felony Adjudication of Guilt making the person a convicted felon.  Probation up to 5 year. Fines Maximum fine $5,000, License Revocation at least 10 years Possibility of Business Purposes the License after 2 years of the 10-year revocation. Ignition Interlock 2 years. Vehicle Impound 90 days. DUI School complete Level II DUI School and any recommended treatment. Community service Required, maybe possible to buy out at $10.00 per hour. Court Costs and Costs of Prosecution

THIRD DUI CONVICTION OUTSIDE 10 YEARS OF A PRIOR CONVICTION Jail Time maximum sentence of one year in jail. Probation Up to 12 months. Fines $2,000 to $5,000.  If the blood alcohol level was .15 or higher, or at the time of the offense or minor in vehicle, the minimum fine is $4,000. License Revocation 6 to 12 months.  A person with a third DUI conviction outside of 10 years of a prior DUI conviction is not eligible for a Florida Business Purposes Only License. Ignition Interlock 2 years. Vehicle Impound 10 days. DUI School complete Level II DUI School and any recommended treatment. Community Service Required, maybe possible to buy out at $10.00 per hour. Court Costs and Costs of Prosecution: Court costs and costs of prosecution fees vary.

*** MUST APPLY OR WAIVE FORMAL ADMINISTRATIVE HEARING WITHIN 10 DAYS OF ARREST OR D/L WILL AUTOMATICALLY SUSPEND!

About the Author

John P. Rutkowski

Mr. Rutkowski has been practicing law for the past twenty-four years. Prior to going to law school Mr. Rutkowski served as a deputy sheriff before retiring to attend law school. Upon graduating law school Mr. Rutkowski served as a prosecutor in Florida before going in to private practice.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Contact us

John P. Rutkowski, Attorney at Law, is focused on all aspects of Criminal Defense, State and Federal Courts, Post Conviction Relief, Criminal Appeals and Traffic Offenses. Contact me today for a free telephone consultation.

Menu